The Green Eyed Monster: Jealousy

If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might not be alone

“Hey Jealousy” – The Gin Blossoms

I know I skipped my second “I” post for The Pagan Blog Project. Like I told you last week, I wrote one about Innocence and didn’t post it. Maybe. I was also pumped about J being for “Jesus,” as I love talking about The Christ from a mystical Pagan perspective. But, alas there’s a second J week coming up and perhaps my chicken coop will be finished by then and I’ll have more time for blogging. (It is turning into the most pretentiously prissy thing I’ve ever made – including the Bad Daughters.)

This week, I’ll keep it short.

J is for Jealousy.

I’ve mentioned covetousness before but jealousy is just a little different. Jealousy seems to me to be about feeling that there is a finite nature to the universe’s bounty. Those who experience jealousy seem to believe that if Person #1 has bounty, there is less bounty for Person #2. Therefore, Person #2 must struggle to “keep up with” the Person #1s of the world.

The trick is – there’s more than enough for everyone to have a big piece of cake. The universe is about multiplicity after all. Nothing in our existence is about subtraction. Creation always adds. In other words, there’s plenty to go around.

And the trick to that is – attraction. Just as there is plenty of good to go around, there is, likewise, plenty of shite to go around. We reap what we sow; what goes around comes around; we get what we give; like attracts like; we are what we eat. The law of attraction, no matter what your tradition, is that we draw back into ourselves that which is alike to that which we have cast out into the aether.

Crapola out = crapola in.

The wonder of this is that if we cast love and plenty into the aether, we are rebounded with love and plenty.

I’m not trying to be The Preachy Witch, but all I can surmise is that we should not waste our energy on jealousy. If we cast out jealousy, what do we get back? Is the universe then stingy with us in return? If so, I wouldn’t blame Her.

It’s a dang hard leaf to turn over: giving without the intention of receiving in return, I know. This runs against our instincts of preservation, I get it. Trusting in the laws of return feels a lot like losing control. However, letting go of control can be strangely empowering. Freely giving is also, ironically, the gateway to receiving.

It’s terrifying. But it doesn’t make it less true.

After all: Love is the Law, Love under Will.

Blessings, Quarks, and 93,

The Bad Witch

This post is part of a year-long project. Rowan Pendragon’s The Pagan Blog Project; “a way to spend a full year dedicating time each week very specifically to studying, reflecting, and sharing . . . .    The project consists of a single blog post each week posted on prompt that will focus on a letter of the alphabet.” 

One comment on “The Green Eyed Monster: Jealousy

  1. […] want to watch someone with a constitution that allows such jealousy try to run a household on a budget the size of mine. I want to watch that one deal with an immune […]

Leave a Reply

