Oops . . .

Headplant.

I sat bolt upright in bed the other night when I realized that I had accepted The Witchy Blog Award from Cin on my new blog, Ehsha, and failed to nominate anyone. You see, it was Samhain and I had some students/friends/grove-members coming over–one of them brand-spanking-new and shiny as all-hell and hell-yeah–and hit “Post” before I finished doing what needed doing.

I am The Bad Witch, after all.

So, lucky me! I get a re-do! After I mucked up the award process on 10/31, the day of its inauguration, the author of The Biblebelt Witch, Lunapo (gotta love a sister-wolf), sent the award to me on 11/3, just a few days later. Now, I can amend my error.

Seven Questions:

  • How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft?

I reckon it found me. Everyone around me knew that there was “something about that girl.” I was around puberty when I figured out what that something was. I was 17 when I found my craft-mate/soul-mate/best-friend-in-the-entire-universe, Christine. We figured a few things out together.

  • Do you grow herbs?

Yes. Lots and lots. The above mentioned Christine is the real herb-lady. She taught me just about everything I know about gardening. All but what my daddy and big-sister taught me and what I learned by making stoopid mistakes.

  • Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience.

No. For the details, visit The Bad Witch Files and look for “The One Where TBW Tells Her Momma” and “The Articulated Witch.”

  • What tradition do you follow?

I am a Heathen (but neither Asatru or Vanatru); I am a Sorcerer/Ceremonial Magician. I am developing as a Volva. What does that make me? I revere my female ancestors and my ancestors from both North America and Europe. I call this Disirtroth, but that’s not “a thing” outside of my keyboard and my Hof. Yet.

  • Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)

I’m a Sorcerer, Magician, Volva. But I call myself a Witch too. Simply because my primary language is English and that’s the word we use for the conglomeration of things folks like us do.

  • How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?

Eat. Sleep. Breathe. Teach. Take social action.Teach again. Parent. Teach some more.
So, yeah. This is not something I do–this is something I am.

  • Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you meet him/her and how s/he takes part in your practice (if at all).

Actually, a few. And, for safety reasons, I prefer not to disclose more. There are malicious Witches out there too.

I said this on my Ehsha post and then found out yesterday that there have been plans for a little bad kitchen witchery involving my dogs, steak, and antifreeze. That ain’t magic, ya’ll. That’s just meanness.

My nominees are:

Hazey at Beyond the Dreads onna-counta she’s precious, y’all. Just wait til you hear what I’ve got cookin’ in my Bad Cauldron!

And, to make up for missing it last time and to interject new blood in our circle–I’m going outside the box:

  • Hrafnkell Haraldsson at A Heathen’s Day — aheathensday.com— no new posts for a little while, but still several years of great stuff worth reading.
  • Alison Leigh Lilly at Meadowsweet and Myrrh, now alisonleighlilly.com
  • Branches Down, Roots Up onna-counta the Yggdrasil traveler in me loves that title–like a lot.
  • Broomstick Chronicles at besom.blogspot.com
  • Nydia, who lives in Brazil not too far from my newly launched student, Ryan, at Bringing Up Salamanders.
  • And Southern Fried Pagan, “Because underneath all that crispy batter, all paths are the same path.” Yee-haw and Hell-yeah. She’s even got a groovy badge for swiping. Go read some real Southern Fried Magic!

 

Leave a Reply

