C is for Chicken Blood

I’m a day late and my blog will be rather short. This past week has had me a bit bent-over, so to speak. I made the mistake of collecting two major writing assignments and promising feedback in 48 hours; this created a domino effect for the rest of my, rather busy, life.

That said, I was going to shortchange my readers by simply pointing back to an earlier blog. I was going to call this one, “The C Word,” and ask you to have a looksie here at “I Calls It Like I Sees It” (a Lacanian dialogue about the physicality of the female divine).

Then I thought I’d *not* shortchange you and spend some time talking about another Pagan dirty word, “Covens.”

But, alas, I got on the phone with my BFF and my sister; they share a birthday today.

My sister and I were talking about chickens. She has been raising them for a couple of years and I plan to build a coup this spring and have a half-dozen or so myself.

We wound round transporting chickens, chicken housing, sexing chicks, feeding, watering, and sanitary issues. We discussed the temperaments and vitality of various breeds and The Bad Sister’s designer line of chicken attire. She gave me a list of resources and a critique of the best and worst chickeny newsletters. We discussed chicken/dog cohabitation and coup layouts. When it came to the conversation about culling the flock – should we end up with a rooster too many – I asked, “Will there be much blood?” I knew I could chop off a head (apparently there is a nifty trick with a milk jug) but I wasn’t sure I could pluck a chicken if there was a lot of blood.

Having just “come out” to my momma (which you can read about here), my religious choices and vocation must have been hot on my sister’s mind. (She’s always known we are Witches. I mean, come on.)

She hemmed and hawed about different ways of culling and gathering blood in less humane ways and finally landed on, “Well, there won’t be enough blood for a ritual of any kind if you just cut off it’s head.”

Insert rimshot here.

I took it as a sign of total love and devotion: “Baby Sister, if you want to use chicken blood in a ritual, you’re gonna have to cull a lot of chickens.”

Happy birthday, Sis. I adore you.

 

This post is part of a year-long project. Rowan Pendragon’s The Pagan Blog Project; “a way to spend a full year dedicating time each week very specifically to studying, reflecting, and sharing . . . .    The project consists of a single blog post each week posted on prompt that will focus on a letter of the alphabet” (http://onewitchsway.com/pbp2012/).

2 comments on “C is for Chicken Blood

  1. […] I wrote about the Chicken Blood, it was a bit of a cop-out for the “B” entry for my participation in Rowen […]

  2. […] what – you can have everything else as long as I can keep that. Then she offered to bring me chickens and art.[2] We are a strange […]

Leave a Reply

