Writing out of a slump

Obviously, The Bad Witch has been in a slump.

All bloggers go through this, we get excited about our new forum and we blog away and then life steps in and makes blogging seem like a leisure activity. For some, it may be. For others, not so much. Some writers only feel complete when they are writing. Not writing is often a symptom.

But in The Bad Witch’s case, not writing is only a matter of not knowing the words to express what has been happening in this realm.

And that’s the way of it. There is “that which cannot be spoken” – or in this case, blogged.

Thelema is a thing, Hermetics is a thing, Goetia is a thing, Chaos is a thing; and they are all very good things and they all have a special place in my heart. But there are some places where all of these “things” clash for me. I’ll get to that in another blog.

But the thing I’m going through – experiencing – is all of those things and none of those things. Not exactly.

See, the slump is abating already. I’ve just thought of three things I can share with you without diving straight into the sea of “unspeakable” topics.

I can tell you about the prolonged thoughtforms project I am working on. I can give you my perspective on daemons and goetic work. I can try to puzzle out some sort of something concerning the place for the feminine in Thelema and Hermetics. I mean, wands, swords, athames? See a theme? Sure, there are chalices, rings, crystal balls, and scrying bowls. But they are, of course, passive receptors. Again, we’ll get into that later.

You see, my writing slump is not a symptom of disinterest or a lack of work. Maybe I’ve been working too much and I need to slow down and reflect. Really, I didn’t realize how much I was doing until I started listing things. Writing out of a slump is empowering.

I’m excited. Hope you are too.

But, again, life inevitable interventionism causes the writer to sign off too early and tend to barking dogs and crying children and overdue debts and burning soup. Even a bad witch needs a sum of money and a room of her own.

Leave a Reply

